God Will Provide

“This is what I want you to do: Ask the Father for whatever is in keeping with the things I’ve revealed to you. Ask in my name, according to my will, and he’ll most certainly give it to you. Your joy will be a river overflowing its banks!” John 16:23-24 (The Message).

100_1084 

I learned a long time ago the principle of GWP: God Will Provide. I remember distinctly ten years ago, I had just returned to my career outside the home after maternity leave while my heart longed to be at home with my babies.  I was trying to figure out if we could survive financially with me working from home. I remember sitting supervising a visit, crunching numbers, and not seeing on paper how it would all work out. My husband and I, though, took a leap of faith, feeling God was leading us in this direction, and trusted He would work out our budget.

Ten years later I can honestly say He has. Our bills have always been paid, we paid off our credit card living debt free at one point except for our house, and even had a little extra money now and again for vacations and other fun activities. I have changed job multiple times, sometimes as a result of my own initiative and sometimes through no fault of my own, but always, God has taught our family the important lesson that He is the One who has provided throughout the years. It was never in our own strength.

Have you experienced a time in your life when it was very clear it was God who provided? We would love to share in that experience with you if you comment below.

© 2013 Cheri Swalwell